Abortion – Why Not (Pt. 3)

Abortion – Why Not (Part 3)

Einstein quote

This is the concluding part in our short series explaining why abortion is immoral and should be opposed.  Tomorrow, VPCYG will go to Baton Rouge to pray for an end to abortion.

The first two posts dealt with the teaching of the Catholic Church and the physical effects of abortion on women (and men).

In this post, I’d like to address the infant in the womb.

Just two days ago, an acquaintance of mine (whom I consider intelligent, polite, studious) said that she felt that abortion was acceptable because it was “just a blob of goo” being killed.

Of course, I addressed the issue with her.  I tried to be charitable, but I don’t know if she accepted my answer. I don’t want to gang up on her, so I left it at that and prayed that the Holy Spirit would enlighten her.

But, here I want to specifically address the issue: Is the “blob of goo” actually a human?

The answer is an unequivocal YES!  The Church tells us so (Catechism paragraph 2270); but, so does science.  Once conception has occurred the child is 100% genetically distinct from her mother.  She is not “just a part of” the mother; she is her own person.

Now, to be sure, the mother provides 2 vital elements: 1) nutrition and 2) a safe environment in which to grow.  But, parents must continue to provide those two elements when the child is born and livng outside the womb.  There is no 1-year-old who will survive unless a mother feeds and shelters her.

From the moment the child is born, it grows.  My baby picture looks a lot like other baby photos.  It’s hard to distinguish me from other children at the same age.  Given the time to develop, I’ve matured into a recognizable, distinguishable adult.

That’s all a child needs – time to develop.  But, it is certain that a human embryo will indeed develop into a human.  It cannot develop into a fish, or a bird, or anything else.

So, a child is a human from the moment of conception.  The next question is: Does the human child in the womb obtain any human rights?

That will have to be for another post.  Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in activities, Culture, Elements of Faith, pro-life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abortion – Why Not (Pt. 3)

  1. Carol Harp says:

    Please tell me where I can purchase the picture of the baby
    in the mans hands. I so sidewalk counceling in Tulsa and
    would love to have this picture. Please advise me of sizes
    and prices.
    God bless,
    Carol Harp

    • Nicholas Jagneaux says:

      Carol,

      I’m sorry, but I don’t know where I got the image. I copied it from somewhere long ago. May God bless your work.

Leave a Reply

