U2 – “Miracle Drug”

“Miracle Drug” by U2

I think that U2 is the greatest rock band. Ever.

The first song that I want to link to is called “Miracle Drug“.  The song is about a childhood friend of U2 frontman, Bono.  The friend, Christopher Nolan, was born paraplegic. 

However, Bernadette, his mother,  was not going to give up on him.  Eventually, modern medicine allowed Christopher to be able to communicate.  And, Christopher burst forth with all of the poems and images that he had been storing up. 

Here are the lyrics (along with a little commentary):

“Miracle Drug” – written and performed by U2

I want to trip inside your head
Spend the day there…
To hear the things you haven’t said
And see what you might see

I want to hear you when you call
Do you feel anything at all?
I want to see your thoughts take shape
And walk right out

Freedom has a scent
Like the top of a new born baby’s head (That’s a cool, very pro-life lyric)

The songs are in your eyes
I see them when you smile
I’ve had enough I’m not giving up
On a miracle drug

Of science and the human heart
There is no limit (Reason and Love, both of which are attributes that show us to be in the image and likeness of God)
There is no failure here sweetheart
Just when you quit…

I am you and you are mine
Love makes nonsense of space
And time (When we are in Love, we are outside space and time)

… will disappear
Love and logic keep us clear
Reason is on our side, love…

The songs are in your eyes
I see them when you smile
I’ve had enough of romantic love (Wow! An acknowledgement that romantic love is not enough; it is a part of Love, but it is not all of Love)
I’d give it up, yeah, I’d give it up
For a miracle

a miracle drug, a miracle drug

God I need your help tonight (A prayer of humility:  I cannot do it; I need Him)

Beneath the noise
Below the din
I hear a voice
It’s whispering (See 1 Kings 19:11-13)
In science and in medicine
“I was a stranger
You took me in”

The songs are in your eyes
I see them when you smile
I’ve had enough of romantic love
I’d give it up, yeah, I’d give it up
For a miracle, miracle drug

Miracle, miracle drug

Don’t worry so much about the images in the video embedded above.  I couldn’t find a version of the song on YouTube that I really liked; so I grabbed this one.  Instead, let the music and lyrics speak for themselves. 

I know that what you’re going to hear isn’t normally considered “Praise and Worship” music, but the lyrics speak of Real Love.

The song comes from U2’s fantastic album, How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb.  I encourage you to buy it.  The songs on it are unbelievably Christian in theme; and the music is great.  I’m going to link to some of it every now and then.

This entry was posted in entertainment, Praise & Worship Music, pro-life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

