10th Station – Jesus is Stripped of His Garments

The following excerpts come from The Way of the Cross written by Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen and published by Our Sunday Visitor (1982).

JESUS IS STRIPPED OF HIS GARMENTS

“… As Saint Paul wrote, God ’emptied Himself,’ cast His glory into the background, and took upon Himself the human form and habit of a man. … He, the Heavenly Vagabond who had nowhere to lay His head, was stripped of His garments, so that in death He might have nothing, but give all.”

“Jesus my Savior, … Strip from me the garments of worldliness, and clothe me in the white robe of baptism.  Through proverty in earthly things, I can become rich in spirit.  Strenghten me so that I may welcome sacrifice and accept bodily suffering as my way of repaying you for, and joining you in, the merit of your Passion.”

This entry was posted in Elements of Faith, Great Art, Prayer, Stations of the Cross. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

